When Wodehouse (who will not make it in this rack cos he has a rack of his own) was asked about the ‘process’ of writing, his reply was succinct – “I just sit in front of a typewriter and curse a bit.”

There are writers who are artists and there are writers who are craftsmen. There are writers, the great ones, who are both. The latter cannot be your friends, you will always remain in awe of them.

We talked and we will talk about them and the ones gifted enough to have written just one book and the ones who churn out one masterpiece after another, but we often underestimate the contemporary writers, who chose genres which shouldn’t be or wouldn’t be taken seriously by a literature buff.

Stephen King.

Terry Pratchett.

Oh here comes another reader who pretends to be a literature need but in reality, is just a movie watcher through books, you say. The whodunit, the thriller, the action genre, the fantasy writers. That’s for dumb readers. Talk about serious stuff, the quote that changes my life, the one I am tempted to tell all my friends about, what’s the use of a Stephen King quote in intelligent conversation?

King resonates with me a lot, like me, he is a teacher by heart. I live a pretensive life, he doesn’t. He still teaches, in spite of becoming a writing superstar. He teaches how to write.

Give up your to-read booklist or add one name to it as urgently as you can. I won’t suggest the genre that King is famous for. I won’t suggest The Shining, by far the best book he has written. I shall suggest a love story.

22/11/63

I have two copies of this book. I purchased the kindle edition after I had the physical edition, cos I couldn’t wait to finish it. The thing about King is that his writing is approachable. You CAN imagine being able to write like this, if you work hard enough. It is like never being jealous of a supermodel’s husband because she is so unreachable, but envious of your friend whose wife looks ravishing in parties. You don’t imagine the former lying spread eagled on the couch ever, but the latter… Ummm not totally out of the realms of possibility.

King is that ravishing wife of literature. Who will always be out of reach at the level of your ability, but never seem out of reach. Deceptively light reading, but you cannot altogether be a snob, can you?

Tell me.

What is the definition of an utterly hopeless love?

A love story in an alternate reality.

What if you time traveled and then fall in love with someone there? And you come back?

There cannot be any greater unrequited love, can there be?  Especially if the girl you have fallen in love with can say things like this:

screenshot_20161018-134259

You know, some books have a protagonist with a voice of his own, unlike any other? If they would make a movie, the tone of his voice, the way he would mouth his lines, would instantly enable you to either love him or detest him? Steinback does that very well among classical authors (Cannery Row is bound to feature here) No contemporary author comes as close to mastering that skill as King does. Jake here is that voice. The best example of the voice can be given thus…

screenshot_20161018-141333

He makes wisecracks and profoundly simple statements sound exactly the same. I’ve made a rule to put up only 3 lines of a book, so I can’t convey his voice to you, and I shouldn’t, the way he speaks in your head and in mine will be totally different.

20161018_130411

Can you not see yourself coining a line like that already? What’s the big deal? But then, why didn’t you already?

Or this. I do not know why I liked it so much. Probably because it is true.

20161018_140833

On second thoughts. Don’t read it. Ever.

Because if you do and you do not like it, I might just hate you.

 

 

 

 

 

 

