Long before I had the delusion I could write, I originally was a sponge, a canvas, an accumulator of words and books, a connoisseur, a lover of minds which talked to me by travelling through time from their pages. Their memories and my imagination could whip up a heady cocktail at will, wake up the spirit of being alive. Why not get back to the compiler role, I wondered? 

Digging deep into the books I own and love, sometimes digging deep into the well in my head, into my 4 figure collection, to find and share the words that made my mind cum repeatedly with abandon. 

The Aha sentences, phrases, paragraphs.

Cos let’s face it.

Aha beats haha anyday.

Starting with the rack where I stack the most orgasmic of them all. For me. My favourite books. 

I shall let you see that rack of mine. Book by book. The only way someone can ever get to tell me – nice rack. 

Exhibit A:

20161012_175035

The Things They Carried – Tim O’Brien

The raw short story collection on the Vietnam war, which has stories unusually, non-linearly linked to each other like the movie Crash has this line which will suddenly make total sense one fine day, one gut wrenching day, and then, will turn into a philosophy, a totem which you will turn to. The book isn’t really one of my favourites, simply because it is a bit too raw, and not quite readable again. But it is a lovely read nevertheless, like one of those books you rave about when you read it, then forget all about it until one fine day you notice it again.

But couple that up with one heartbreaking and depressing book you CAN read again and again in your 20’s before you outgrow it, Ken Kesey’s One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, a book about which nothing can be said at all, because I do not think anyone hasn’t read it or watched the movie, or like me, done both, more than once. Trust me, the book is as good as the movie, if not better. There’s a quote on the first page itself which is quite similar to the one above. And as true.

“But it’s true even if it didn’t happen.”

Ponder over the last line.

Can things be true even if they aren’t?

 

 

 

